The election of the president of the municipality of Kondapalli in Andhra was held by order of the HC after much delay

With YSRCP and TDP winning nearly equal constituencies, YSRCP members delayed the election of the president, after the court allowed TDP MP Kesineni Nani to vote as an ex-officio member.

The election of the President and Vice-President of Kondapalli Municipality in Krishna District of Andhra Pradesh took place on Wednesday November 24 under the leadership of the High Court of Andhra Pradesh. The State Election Commission completed the voting process under strict security. However, according to court orders, the result was not declared. Members of the TDP neighborhood arrived at the municipal office under the leadership of Vijayawada MP Kesineni Nani while YSRCP neighborhood members were led by MP Vasanta Krishna Prasad.

The election did not take place earlier on Monday and Tuesday. Constituency members of the opposition party Telugu Desam (TDP) and Kesineni Nani had approached the High Court to seek instructions from the deputy election official to organize the elections without further delay. The court observed that the election had apparently been postponed in order not to implement its orders allowing MP Kesineni Nani to vote in the election as an ex-officio member. On Friday, November 19, the High Court ordered the State Election Commission to allow TDP MP Kesineni Nani to vote as an ex officio member. Kesineni Nani’s lawyer had argued that under the Municipalities Act of Andhra Pradesh, an MP can choose a municipality of their choice to be an ex officio member.

Judge D Ramesh summoned Vijayawada Police Commissioner (responsible) G Pala Raju and Deputy Election Officer Shivanarayana Reddy. When Shivanarayana Reddy said that the situation was not conducive to the conduct of the elections, the judge asked him why he had not asked for help from the police. After giving the order to conduct the elections on Wednesday, the court adjourned the hearing of the case to November 25. The polling panel was ordered not to announce the results of the poll until further notice.

In municipal elections held last week, the ruling YSRCP and TDP had won 14 constituencies each. However, the strength of the TDP increased to 15 when independent parish member K Srilakshmi joined the party. Newly elected constituency members were due to elect the president and vice-president on Monday. With MPP Krishna Prasad eligible to vote as an ex-officio member, the YSRCP tally rose to 15. However, YSRCP members blocked the election on Monday on the grounds that the MP from Vijayawada cannot participate in the vote. . The High Court allowed Kesineni Nani to vote but will rule on the validity of his vote later.

In recent elections held for 13 urban local bodies, YSRCP swept the polls by winning 11 of them with a clear majority. TDP won Darsi Municipality in Prakasam District while the result was tied in Kondapalli.